Skip to content

Project 52 ’11 12: The Nature of Despair

March 27, 2011

A short and rather late (sorry) post this week. A poem which was meant to be about the nature of despair. I’m not entirely satisfied with it but I didn’t know where else to go with it. Hopefully tomorrow’s post will be on time

Despair

I came across a deadthing
Half torn and flyblown,
A brilliant, vermillion smear,
Red on a side road.

I froze, caught a throat-load
Of its sweet reek
And dry wretched.

I could not turn –
Its half closed, glazed eye
Caught and stalled me
Like poison seeping slowly
Into sleeping waters.

Once quick muscles
Now thick with sleep;
Quiet, rising panic;
Despair in the silence.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

