Skip to content

Project 52 ’11 11: Apologies to G.M.H

March 14, 2011

During my time at university, I was introduced to a lot of material that I had not encountered before. A lot of it was by writers unknown to me and a lot of it will never be looked at again. Some of it, though, was enough to leave a lasting impression on me and is something to which I will return to again and again in my life. One of the writers to whom I was introduced was Gerard Manly Hopkins. I find his work breathtakingly unique and original and I could not help but fall in love with his use of language. My own writing is influenced heavily by his work and I love to use techniques like assonance and alliteration, sibilance and consonance to affect the way a poem sounds and to affect the way in which a reader will interpret an image presented to them. Couple this with my love of Mediaeval alliterative verse (sadly not taught at uni), and you will get to the sort of thing I have written here. I just hope it’s not too derivative.

A mindless wander in the garden

Attentionless, drifting, daydreaming.


When suddenly

A fast fleet thing –

A blur, a passing bird’s wing,

Half-seen, flashing green streak

Of fullflight feathered freedom;

A bright bird, beyond reason;

A dawn-caught glint of light.


A sudden thought spawned,

A wing-borne fantasy:

I’m flying and sunlit

In rooftop kingdoms

And backyard dominions,

Lord of the trees, the leaves, the breeze;

I’m free, a fantasy,

An idea, a thought,

A laugh, a cry –

The voice of the wind.


And, just as sudden,

The comedown.

I’m lumpen and Earthbound.

A human hewn from clay.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

